RBSE Solutions for Class 8 Social Science Chapter 22 National Movement

RBSE Solutions for Class 8 Social Science Chapter 22 National Movement are part of RBSE Solutions for Class 8 Social Science. Here we have given RBSE Rajasthan Board Solutions for Class 8 Social Science Chapter 22 National Movement.

Rajasthan Board Solutions for Class 8 Social Science Chapter 22 National Movement

Board RBSE
Class Class 8
Subject Social Science
Chapter Chapter 22
Chapter Name National Movement
Number of Questions Solved 16
Category RBSE Solutions

Rajasthan Board Class 8 Social Science Textbook Questions Solved

Question 1.
(i) When was the Indian National Congrees formed?
(a) 1885
(b) 1919
(c) 1942
(d) 1905

(ii) When was the First War of Independence held?
(a) 1897
(b) 1857
(c) 1947
(d) 1950
(i) (a)
(ii) (b)

Question 2.
Who is the author of ‘Chetavani Ra Chungtya’?
Kesari Singh Barhath wrote ‘Chetavani-Ra-Chungtya’

Question 3.
Write the name of the Revolutionaries of Rajasthan.
Revolutionaries of Rajasthan were:
(i) Aijun Lai Sethi
(ii) Rao Gopal Singh Kharva
(iii) Kesari Singh Barhath
(iv) Pratap Singh Barhath
(v) Joravar Singh Barhath

Question 4.
What was the Rowlatt Act?
In 1919 the British government passed the Act empowering the authorities to detain the rival political activists behind the bar for a long period, without any fair trial, and to arrest any individual of Indian origin, suspected of sedition without a warrant. It was known as the Rowlatt Act.

Question 5.
Who were ‘LaT-‘Bal’-‘PaT? write their names?
“Lai, Bal, Pal” were Lala Lajpat Rai from Punjab, Bipin Chandra Pal from Bengal and Bal Gangadhar Tilak from Maharashtra.

Question 6.
Describe the massacre of Jaliawala Bagh.
To oppose the Rowlatt Act of 1919, the peaceful meeting was held at Jallianwala Bagh in Amritsar (Punjab). On 13th April 1919 when suddenly General Dyer ordered his forces to fire at the unarmed crowd, killing many of them. General Dyre was awarded in Britain for this act of bravery. Later the revolutionary Udham Singh shot General Dyer to Death in London.

Question 7.
Describe the ‘Civil Disobedience Movement’.
It was in 1930 that Mahatama Gandhi gave a call to launch Civil Disobedience movement i.e. to violate the government laws peacefully and without any violence. The Indians could not make even salt without the government permission. Under Gandhiji’s leadership, people marched from Gujarat to Dandi to make salt in a large number. The police continued their lathi charge, but the revolutionaries did not budge and advanced to Dandi raising the slogan “Bharat Mata Ki Jai”. Thus, it was Gandhiji’s non violent movement which was known as the Civil Disobedience Movement.

Question 8.
Describe the ‘Quit India Movement’.
Quit India Movement was launched in 1942 during the Second World War, with the slogan, “Quit India” meaning thereby that the British should left India. The movement was led by Mahatama Gandhiji. The government arrested all the leaders. As this event occured in August, 1942, it is also known as the August revolution. This was the public campaign for the National Movement.

Question 9.
Describe the main incidents of Indian National Movement.
Main Events of the Indian National Movement:
1. Bal Gangadhar Tilak strongly opposed the British policies through his newspapers- Maratha and Kesari. He was imprisoned on the charge of treason for 18 months. As he came out of jail he started Home Rule Movement and with his efforts the Lucknow pact was signed in 1916. In 1905 Bengal was partitioned. This event is known as “Bang Bhang” paved the way for Swadeshi movement.

2. In 1907 in Congress Sesson at Surat the congress was split into Extremists and Moderates. The Extremists were led by the Lala Lajpat Rai, Bipin Chandra Pal and Bal Gangadhar Tilak (Lal-Bal-Pal). After a great opposition in December 1911, the proposal of Bengal partition was withdrawn.

3. Rowlatt Act was passed in 1919 by the British government. Under this act any one opposing the government could be sent behind bars for a long duration.

4. Jallianwala Bagh Event: On 13^ April 1919 the British General Dyer ordered his men to fire at the assembly of people holding peaceful meeting at Jalianwala Bagh, Amritsar in order to oppose the Rowlatt Act. Many innocent people were killed in the firing. However, later the revolutionary Udham Singh killed General Dyer in London.

5. By Act of 1919 Dyarchy was introduced in the provinces and as a reaction to this act of the government the Congress decided not to cooperate with the government.

6. Non-Cooperation Movement was started by Gandhiji in 1920 but it had to be withdraw due to violence by the revolutionaries who attacked a police post in 1922, at Chauri-Chaura in Gorakhpur district and killed many policemen.

7. Simon Commission: It had six members, all British, reached India on Febuary 3, 1928. When the people raised the slogan – “Simon Go Back” and turned violent, the police officer charged lathis on Lala Lajpat Rai who was leading the rebels. Due to injuries on his head he died after sometime. Bhagat Singh and his associates shot sanders to death and later they exploded a bomb in the Central Vidhan Sabha. On 23rd March, 1931 Bhagat Singh, Sukhdev and Raj Guru were hanged to death by the British.

8. In 1930 Gandhiji started Civil Disobedience Movement. He along with many people marched from Gujarat to Dandi where he made the salt and thus violated the British law denying this right to the Indians.

9. Quit India Movement was started in August 1942, with the slogan- “British, Quit India”. It was a big public Movement, also known as the August Revolution.

10. As a result of great sacrifices of millions of people and their leaders, India was partitioned on 14th August, 1947 and declared independent on 15 August, 1947.

RBSE Solutions for Class 8 Additional Questions Solved

I. Multiple Choice Questions
(i) Civil disobedience movement was launched by Gandhiji in-
(a) 1930
(b) 1931
(c) 1932
(d) 1933

(ii) The Jallianwala Bagh massacre took place at-
(a) Amritsar
(b) Jalandhar
(c) Panipat
(d) Delhi
(i) (a)
(ii) (a)

II. Fill in the blank
(i) Lord Curzon issued an ordinance dividing the province of Bengal ………… .
(ii) Gandhiji started the non – cooperation Movement in ………… .
(iii) Jallianwala Bagh massacre was committed by ………….. .
(iv) Quit India movement was launched in ………….. .
(i) Into two parts
(ii) 1920
(iii) General Dyer
(iv) 1942

III. Answer the questions
Question 1.
Give the meaning of Swadeshi?
Literally means ‘one’s own country’. It’s aim is upliftment of society socially and economically specially of the ruler workers. According to Gandhiji boycott of foreign goods could harm the english trade and their economy.

Question 2.
What do you mean by non violence?
According to Gandhiji it is a weapon of strong, mighty and powerful individuals. He was of the opinion that neither an individual nor a country could gain anything by using violent methods.

Question 3.
Why was Simon Commission boycotted by the Indians?
Simon Commission was boycotted by the Indians because there was no Indian member in it.

IV. Match the column A with column B.

Column A Column B
(i) Quit India Movement (a) Executed on 23rd March 1931
(ii) Swaraj Party (b) Resolution passed in Lahore
(iii) Bhagat Singh (c) 8 August 1942
(iv) Complete Independence (d) Motilal Nehru & C.R. Das
(v) Annie Besant (e) Partition of Bengal
(iv) Lord Curzon (f) Home Rule

(i) (c)
(ii) (d)
(iii) (a)
(iv) (b)
(v) (f)
(vi) (e)

We hope the given RBSE Solutions for Class 8 Social Science Chapter 22 National Movement will help you. If you have any query regarding RBSE Rajasthan Board Solutions for Class 8 Social Science Chapter 22 National Movement, drop a comment below and we will get back to you at the earliest.